Cod & Salmon En Croute with Spinach

2017-05-29 06.07.27

Today, being a holiday, meant my hubby and I were both home. We took advantage of the rainy, dreary day, to get caught up on a couple of long-outstanding chores. We cleaned and organized our linen closet (somehow I’m missing a bunch of pillow cases), and we inventoried our freezers. Yes, that’s plural. We have our regular freezer in our kitchen fridge, a top freezer in our garage, and since our son moved back home, his chest freezer in the basement. Being my mother’s child, I have food in all of them.

After the inventory, I realized I had two 5 oz. pieces of cod, and two 5 oz. pieces of salmon. I wanted everyone to eat the same thing for dinner, so I went on a recipe hunt. I never did find any one recipe I liked, and I didn’t feel like going out to the grocery store since it was raining fairly hard at that moment, so I got creative. Here is my recipe. It will serve 3 to 4 people.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 fillets each of cod and salmon, 5 to 6 oz each – remove skin and small bones
  • 4 to 6 cups  fresh baby spinach, rough chopped
  • 1/4 large sweet onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 sweet yellow pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 1 lemon, cut in half
  • 1 egg beaten with 1 tsp. water for egg wash
  • 1 frozen pie crust, or pastry dough, or phyllo dough, defrosted
  • 2 tbsp. light sour cream
  • 1 tsp. dill weed
  • 1 tsp. dried chive
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
  • More salt & pepper to taste.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees and put a piece of parchment on a rimmed cookie sheet.

Using a mini chopper to make it as easy as possible, finely chop up the onion and yellow pepper. Using a skillet with 1 tbsp. olive oil, weep the onion and yellow pepper, add the garlic and red pepper flakes, then add the spinach and wilt it. Squeeze 1/2 of the lemon over the spinach. I use a small strainer to avoid any seeds getting into the spinach. Toss one last time then set it aside to cool while you prep everything else. Before you use it, squeeze out as much water as you possibly can.

Beat the egg & 1 tsp. of water and set it aside to use as your egg wash.

Using the same mini chopper, add the two cod fillets cut into smaller pieces, the sour cream, dill weed, chive, the juice from the other half of the lemon, salt & pepper. Chop until it is a fine texture, similar to pate’.

I have a granite counter, so I cleaned it well and dried it, and unrolled my pie crust directly onto the counter.

I then laid the two salmon fillets into the middle of the pie crust, sprinkled with salt and pepper, then topped it evenly with the spinach mixture, then topped it again with the cod mixture.

I folded one long side up and over the fish, and used a little egg wash on the side. I then brought up the other long side and sealed it, and did the same with the ends, making one large package.

I carefully lifted the entire package with two hands, turned it over seam side down, and centered it on the parchment on the cookie sheet.

I then used a pastry brush and egg washed the entire thing, and put it into the preheated 400 degree oven, for 40 minutes. It came out beautifully browned and the fish was cooked perfectly. It did split on top though, but that didn’t change the flavors at all. I ate about 1/4th of the dish. My husband and son finished the rest, but with rice, pasta or couscous, and an additional veggie, it would serve 4.

Note: You will need a little more salmon than cod for this dish, and it can be made in many ways. If you have a large filet of salmon, you could cut it in half, mix the cod and spinach, and make it 3 tiered. You would need additional pastry, pie crust or phyllo dough as you always need it large enough to wrap and seal.

2017-05-29 06.04.15

Because I hadn’t made this before, I found I did have left over spinach mixture, and some left over cod pate. I had approximately 2/3 C of the cod, so I put it back into the mini chopper, added about 1/4C of the spinach, about 2 tbsp. of the leftover beaten egg, and finally, about 1/4C of seasoned panko crumbs. I made this into 2 hamburger sized patties and sauted them with 1 tbsp. olive oil, in a covered pan. It took about 7 minutes per side for the patties to cook through while getting golden brown on the outside. My son ate one in addition to the fish, and has made a sandwich with tartar sauce for his lunch at work tomorrow with the second one.

One last note: I don’t have the exact calorie count for this, but based on a couple of other recipes I looked at, 1/4 of the dish should be approximately 280 – 340 calories, depending on the crust you use.

 

Leave a Reply

