Spicy BBQ Sauce for Whatever –Chicken, ribs, burgers, dogs….

Today is my husband’s birthday and I asked what he wanted for dinner. To my total surprise, he answered wings. It’s to my surprise, because although he will eat them if we get them as an appetizer, he has never expressed a love for wings. This is mostly because he doesn’t like to eat with his hands, unless it’s a sandwich. He uses a knife and fork for pizza, and bbq chicken, and prefers corn on the cob with holders.

Okay, enough background. I had a family pack of wings in the freezer, so I defrosted them, cut them into pieces, tossing the tips into a ziplock and into the freezer for next time I make soup. I dried them really well, salted and peppered them, and placed the pieces on a rack over a foil lined cookie sheet and cooked them at 350 for about 30 minutes. This was to partially cook them since a couple pieces were still frozen.

While the wings were baking, I took a copper sauce pan, and combined the following:

  • 1 stick sweet, unsalted butter
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/4 C apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 C Sriracha
  • 1/2 C Sweet Baby Ray’s bbq sauce
  • 2 Tbsp. Gulden’s mustard
  • 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

I heated it up and stirred it together. When the wings were partially cooked but not yet browned, I took them out of the oven. I turned the oven up to 475. I then tossed the wings, in batches, into the bbq sauce making sure they were fully covered. Using tongs I put them back on the racks over the foil lined pan and returned them to the now hot oven for an additional 20 minutes. We like our wings crispy, so I turned the oven onto broil for just a couple of minutes. The wings came out crispy on the outside and moist and delicious.

I brought the remaining bbq sauce to a quick boil, just to make sure I wouldn’t poison the family, and poured it over the wings in the dish just before serving.

I will definitely make this bbq sauce again. It was sweet, spicy, tangy and tasty and would be delicious on any kind of chicken, not just wings, or ribs, or spooned onto burgers or dogs.

I served the wings with Mrs. T’s pierogies topped with sautéd onion, peppers and zucchini, and salad.

Dinner was terrific and their are no wings left. LOL

Leave a Reply

