Some thoughts for today and quick and easy shrimp & scallop kabobs

My New Year’s Resolution for 2017 was to take much better care of myself. This evolved from a number of things — my weight, my broken foot and three months out of the gym, and the fact that I hadn’t been for an “annual” check up in three years.

What have I done so far? Lots.

As you know, we went on vacation to Kona, HI where, thanks to the active volcanoes, all four of us came home with some kind of respiratory ailments. In particular, my asthma was ragingly out of control and has taken two weeks of constant care to be able to breathe easily again. That said, before we went away, I had been seeing a physical therapist for my foot. While I was exercising, I asked what other medical practices were in the building because the building is huge. Temple Health Systems has moved into the burbs and now has a location in Fort Washington. She asked if I was looking for anything in particular and I told her I was looking for an ob/gyn. She directed me to scheduling after my appointment, and before we left for Hawaii, I had made a follow-up appointment with the physical therapist as well as an appointment with an ob/gyn.

I went with trepidation to the new doc, since my last experience had been painful, frightening and involved extended discomfort-details unnecessary here. She was wonderful, took the time to discuss everything I needed/wanted to talk about, sent me for a mammogram and dexi bone scan and called me immediately upon receiving the results. This is a wonderful doctor-so glad I found her. I will actually make my annual appointments annually from now on.

The second part of this New Year’s Resolution is to go to Weight Watchers, which I’ve done. With the “new” points system and the added advantage of the electronic age, i.e QR code scanners and on-line journalling, I am finding it much easier to follow. In week one I lost 6.8 pounds and am motivated to keep going. My husband and son are wonderful and will eat whatever I make without complaint. As a matter of fact, Ben and I had a discussion just today– his comment? “Dad and I are both easy and difficult. We’re easy because we will eat anything and don’t really care. We’re also difficult because we will eat anything and don’t really care.” Now every mother reading this gets this. You ask the family about what they want for dinner, and you either get no answer at all, or I don’t know or I don’t care. All very unhelpful.

Tonight, Ben gave me a suggestion. We had shrimp and scallop kabobs, grilled, with jasmine rice and Asian slaw (already on this feed). I took 1/4 C of olive oil, the juice of 1 lemon, 1/4 tsp. chili powder, 2 cloves of garlic crushed, a couple of shakes of thyme, salt and pepper, and mixed it all together.

I cut yellow sweet pepper, red onion, cleaned mushrooms and sliced zucchini in 1/2″ slices. I tossed everything with the marinade and then threaded it all on double skewers. The final skewer I made was of fresh pineapple chunks without any seasoning, though you could sprinkle it with cinnamon if you wanted to.

Mike heated the gas grill on high, then turned it down to medium and grilled everything. It took about 5 minutes total and was a delicious dinner. The scallops came out buttery and sweet with just a singe on the edges. The shrimp were also delicious and tender.

And the final part of the New Years’ Resolution is that I’m back in the gym. Yesterday was my first day back and I do have to say I’ve got some muscle aches, but not quite as much as I expected. I know, it’s silly, but I’m both pleased and sad that I don’t hurt more. I’m pleased because I do want to go back tomorrow and it means I haven’t lost all of the fitness that I’ve worked for the last couple of years. I’m a little sad because I thought I would hurt more. I know, I know. That’s just silly, but worrying about whether or not I hurt keeps me focused on working a little harder in the gym.

So tomorrow I will go work out again with the great friends who keep me coming back, support my efforts and urge me to push just a little harder each day. I will get back to photos and recipes, I promise. I just need to work out the kinks on new recipes and calculating points as well as measurements.

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

