Standing Rib Roast and Spicy/Candied Brussels Sprouts

Again, no pics, but some fabulous food, though today I will gladly give credit to the professional chefs whose recipes I used. I made a standing rib roast to start the New Year off right and decided to follow Anne Burrell’s recipe, available on Food.com. I will tell you a couple of accommodations I made due solely to what ingredients I had in the house.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 8 to 9# Standing rib roast – bone-in
  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 bunch rosemary, leaves finely chopped (1 tbsp. dried rosemary)
  • 3 cloves garlic, smashed and finely chopped
  • EVOO – enough to make a paste of the herbs
  • 1 to 2 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1 tsp. fresh ground black pepper (my addition since my family likes it)
  • 1 onion, cut into 1/2″ dice
  • 1 pound baby carrots-she uses organic with greens attached. I used 5 medium carrots, peeled and cut into 1″ chuncks
  • 3 ribs of celery, cut into 1/2″ dice
  • 1 pound mushrooms (I omitted mushrooms since I didn’t have any in the house)
  • 1 C dry red wine
  • 2 C rich chicken stock (I used Swanson’s beef broth because I had it in the house and open)
  • 2 bay leaves

DIRECTIONS:

  • Preheat the oven to 450 F
  • Make a paste of the cayenne, rosemary, garlic, salt and pepper and using your hands, rub it into all sides of the roast. Set aside
  • Put the chopped veggies, 2 bay leaves into the bottom of your roasting pan. Add a little olive oil, salt and pepper and toss to make sure the veggies are all coated lightly
  • Place the rib roast on top of the veggies
  • Add 1 C. red wine and 1 C of the broth to the pan. (I put the meat in first then added the liquid – she does it the other way around.
  • Put the roast into the preheated oven and roast 25 to 30 minutes, until the roast is nice and brown and crusty.
  • Turn the heat down to 350 and roast an additional 1 3/4 to 2 hours, basting with the pan juices every 1/2 hour or so. At the 2 hour mark, 1/2 hour at 450, then 1 1/2 hours at 350, I started checking the temperature with an instant read thermometer. My family likes beef that is just about mooing, i.e. very rare. I removed the meat from the oven when the thermometer reached 125. If you like it more well done, remove it at 135 to 140.
  • Tent the meat with foil and let it rest for 15 to 20 minutes before carving.
  • Remove the veggies from the pan and serve along side the meat.

NOTE: We don’t particularly care for au jus with roast beef, but if you do, strain the fat off the juices, taste for seasoning and serve. She recommends slicing the meat and putting the roasted veggies around the meat on the serving platter. You can see pictures on the Food.com website of what the roast looks like.

I make standing rib roast once or twice a year. This was honestly the best I’ve ever made. It was flavorful, evenly seasoned, nice and rare, and incredibly tender. Definitely my new “go to” recipe.

SPICY ROASTED BRUSSELS SPROUTS, Courtesy of  PureWow, an Original Recipe (12/3/14)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/2 to 2# brussels sprouts, cleaned, trimmed and cut in half
  • 1/2 C extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 C rice wine vinegar
  • 1/4 C honey
  • 2 tbsp. Sriracha (or more to taste)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS:

  • Preheat the oven to 400F
  • Line a large cookie sheet with sides with heavy duty aluminum foil (for easy clean up)
  • In a large bowl, whisk together the oil, rice wine vinegar, honey and Sriracha.
  • Add the brussels sprouts and toss until they are fully coated.
  • Spread the brussels sprouts, cut side down (not really necessary, but make sure they are in a single layer)
  • Pour any extra of the marinade over the sprouts and spread to distribute them.
  • Roast them until they are golden and caramelized on the cut sides, 20 to 30 minutes.

NOTE: My family loved these. They are sweet and spicy at the same time and a great side dish to just about any main dish.

 

Now a further note: Mike and I are leaving for vacation tomorrow. Great friends of ours won a trip to Kailua-Kona and invited us to join them. We’re also taking a few extra days to visit our dear friends in California first. So, I won’t be cooking; however, if we come across anything absolutely extraordinary while we’re away regarding food, I will certainly take the time to share it with you all.

Otherwise, I’ll see you in mid-January. Aloha!

 

 

One thought on “Standing Rib Roast and Spicy/Candied Brussels Sprouts

Leave a Reply

