Breakfast is Ready – Baked apples with Oatmeal

Giving appropriate credit for this recipe to Delish.com and Lindsay Funston. The recipe is fairly easy, and I didn’t take photos because she’s already got them online. Baked apples and oatmeal both bring back fond memories of childhood for me, and on a cold, dreary, gray day like today, seemed like the perfect breakfast. And it was, almost. The original recipe is as follows:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 Baking apples, cored – I used honeycrisp apples-Mackentosh or Granny Smith would work well also (You need a firm apple – Delicious, Fuji, etc. would just disintegrate.
  • 4 servings of oatmeal, cooked
  • 1 tbsp. ground cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp. pure Maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp. chopped pecans or walnuts
  • 2 tbsp. dried cranberries or raisins

Preheat the oven to 400. Cook the oatmeal as suggested on the oatmeal package. I used a 5 grain oatmeal which was 1 Cup of the grains to 2 1/2 Cups water for 3 servings, but I stretched it to 4. For Quaker oats, for example, I believe it’s 1/2 Cup oatmeal to 1 Cup of water. Just read the package directions.

In the meantime, core the apples and put each apple into an oven safe dish. The reason I say this, in the pictures on Delish, the apple is cored to about 1/4″ thick, wasting an awful lot of the apple. Instead, I took out just the core, leaving the bottom stem in tact.

When the oatmeal is almost done and beginning to get creamy, take it off the stove and add the cinnamon and syrup. The delish recipe calls for the nuts and cranberries to be used as a topping, but my family likes it mixed in, so I mixed those in as well.

Put the 4 dishes on a rimmed cookie sheet for ease in handling, and in case of spillage. Put an apple into the dish, filling the center of each, then pouring the remaining oatmeal in equal portions over the apple.

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes. Carefully remove from the oven and serve. BE SURE TO REMIND EVERYONE THE DISHES ARE HOT!!!

So that’s the original recipe. Now — We all enjoyed this for breakfast today. My son and husband each ate 1 1/2 of the apples. I found 1 was sufficient. I also felt the flavor of the apple was a little overwhelmed by the oatmeal. I know it will add calories, but, if I were to make this again, I would use all the same ingredients, but….

  1. I would make the baked apples in advance, brushing them lightly with a little additional maple syrup and melted butter. I would bake them for about 35 minutes, by themselves.
  2. Just before serving, I would reheat them for 5-10 minutes, just to take the chill off by placing them into a 400 degree oven giving time to make the oatmeal.
  3. I would make the oatmeal fully on the stove top and then just spoon over the baked apples.

My family’s comments were:

  1. The apples themselves were tasteless, which is why #1 above would be my suggestion. We all remember the sweet, warm baked apples of our childhood, made with butter and brown sugar, or, if we were looking for a less caloric version, with diet rootbeer. NOTE: And, my favorite memory, as dessert, we’d top them with ice cream which would deliciously melt into and over the apple.
  2. When the oatmeal is baked in the oven, the top got very crusty and chewy, totally detracting from the creamy texture we all expect from good, rib-sticking oatmeal, hence, and yes, I’m using the word hence, making the oatmeal stove top and just adding it to the already cooked baked apples.
  3. This would make an elegant breakfast dish for a crowd since the apples could be baked in advance making this quick and easy, basically only as long as it takes to make the oatmeal.

 

Leave a Reply

