First blog post

This is it. My chance to share my kitchen exploits; some successes, some failures, but always prepared with love and joy. I’ll be writing up some of my favorite recipes, and when I learn how to post pictures, I’ll do that as well. I’ll answer questions, share some of my life and how these recipes came about. Some are recipes I’ve culled from other sites and modified to express my own style, and, if I know where the original came from, I will give appropriate credit. I should warn you though. I’m not a measurement person — this means all of my recipes will be suggested amounts, and you’ll read, “to taste” a lot.

I’ll give ingredients, preparation tips, proper temps and some insight, history of the dish, optional additions, etc. wherever I can, but the best advice I can give now to one and all, is dive right in! Cooking is both an art and a science. It should be fun, exciting, tasty and satisfying. That conversation about measurements? Yeah, that’s the science of it. You’ll find very few recipes for baked goods on my blog. Not my strength. I rebel against exact measurements, and baking requires it much more than say, a good chili or stew.

Let’s interrupt right here and give you a great example. You’ll hear about my family too, my son Ben, my daughter Tory, and daughter-in-law, Beth, and my loving husband, Mike, along the way. Mike and I will be celebrating our 34th anniversary this coming Halloween. That, in and of itself, should tell you a little about us — we go with the macabre, the unusual, the humor, the fun! Mike is a pharmacist and, per his profession, believes in measuring everything. We sometimes struggle with this when we try to cook together–I say, “could you please throw a teaspoon of salt into the soup.” What I really mean is, could you please toss about a quarter-size amount, measured loosely in the palm of your hand, into the soup. What he hears is, “could you please put 40,000 grains of salt into the soup?” Okay, I don’t really know how many grains of salt are in a teaspoon, nor do I really care, but you get the idea.

I will identify recipes as appetizers, entrees, sides, and occasionally, yes, even desserts, though they probably won’t be baked goods. I will gladly respond to comments and questions. And, if you’re looking for something special, feel free to contact me to help with menu planning, organization for timing the food prep so you get to sit down with your company and enjoy your own cooking, how to prepare meals ahead of time that taste better the next day, and any general cooking questions you have. I’m not professionally trained, but I am incredibly fond of cooking, of preparing to make sure all my guests can enjoy what I make. I have experience working around food allergies, likes and dislikes. I’ve had my failures, which become very funny stories after the fact. I’ve cooked for 2 and 125. All I can offer are some of my and my family’s favorite recipes, some insight, and share my pleasure in feeding the masses with you.

Welcome to Paula’s Comfort Kitchen. Enjoy!


 

 

One thought on “First blog post

Leave a Reply

